Sorrentolens

Photos and thoughts; Cars; 1950s; 1960s

1957 Dodge Custom Royal Convertible

with 15 comments

brad-and-elaine-hdr
Well – yesterday (3/21/09) we met Brad and Elaine from G-R-A-Y, Maine – I told them how much I like their Dodge – that I gots lots of “hits” from the internet – and some folks actually asked me if I they could buy the car!!

Well – I said I didn’t own the car but some nice folks from G-R-A-Y, Maine owned it, and they would have to talk to them.

Brad and Elaine were really a lovely couple – enjoying their retirement in The Villages, Florida and the warm weather seemed to agree with them.  I took this photo and promised that I would not miss-spell Gray, Maine again.

Cheers! Brad and Elaine – and congratulations on a truly beautiful restoration of your 1957 Dodge Custom Royal Convertible.  

 

I went back up to The Villages on Saturday to get some more photos of some of the classic cars that they have on display each month. I knew there were some that I wanted to go back and capture having seen them back in February.
This Dodge Custom Royal Convertible was a beautiful example of a big 1950s car out of Detroit. This car was carefully restored by a retired New England Bell employee from Grey, Maine.

1957-dodge-cr-conv-front.jpg

1957-dodge-cr-conv-front-2.jpg

1957-dodge-cr-conv-rear-full.jpg

1957-dodge-cr-conv-rear-lights.jpg

1957-dodge-cr-conv-rear-lights-rear.jpg

1957-dodge-cr-conv-rear-side.jpg

Written by sorrentolens

March 16, 2008 at 6:24 pm

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks like it is painted in FHP colors. That would be an intresting patrol car.

    Mark

    March 16, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    • You should send this off to your Commander and see if he’d like to sponsor the car sometime at one of the Cruise-In at the Villages (3rd Saturday of the Month).

      sorrentolens

      July 15, 2009 at 5:52 pm

  2. I heard this beauty was going to be at the Villages so I took the order sheet I had for my 1957 Custom Royal convertible and had a very interesting conversation with the owners. It was the closest I have ever seen to the one I had.
    I was thrilled to see it. Mine was charcoal and white.

    Doris

    May 23, 2008 at 10:14 pm

  3. Does any one know how rare this car is? or how much they are? My grandfather used to have one but he had to sell it, he loved that car and still does. Ever since he sold it hes never seen another and im sure it would mean the world to him if he could learn about how special his car was.

    Aaron Doucet

    July 8, 2008 at 1:44 am

  4. I had one and loved it, a true chick magnet. it was charcoal gray originally and had it painted metallic midnight blue.
    It was quick too, can’t tell you how many Chevy’s and Ford’s I blew away with it.

    walter

    September 23, 2008 at 2:37 pm

  5. Love this car is it for sale and if so how much to ship it to Australia? regards, john

    John Delgado

    October 8, 2008 at 8:49 pm

  6. WOW! That is a good looking dodge is it a 57 where did you get one? becaue I’m looking for one to buy. by the way is your car for sale if it is how much is it?

    Steven

    April 21, 2009 at 12:35 pm

  7. In my search for classic cars, I ran across this and was just taken aback at the condition of this beautiful car. I had one back in the early sixties, but my color was gold and white with a black top. Awesome vehicle. You folks have done a marvelous job on this restoration. I have searched over and over again, gone to many car shows and cruise-ins, but have never seen a ’57 Dodge Convert. This is just awesome and I am drooling!!

    Ken

    August 17, 2009 at 8:37 pm

  8. I learned to drive on a Dodge that looked exactly like this. I never thought that I would ever see one exactly like it again. Paul

    Paul

    September 28, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    • It’s amazing the classic cars that are lurking out there! So many that look brand new – that spark someone’s memory and their youth. Glad you found this one and glad you like it.

      sorrentolens

      September 29, 2009 at 7:30 am

  9. I had one when I was a young man. Mine was an off white convertible with all kinds of gold trim on the interior.
    There was a button on the floor that would allow you to change stations on the radio.
    It had the “Super Red Ram” engine.

    The finest car I ever owned.

    Frank

    July 4, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    • Glad you liked this photo. This car is one of the most popular cars and their photos… I get a lot of hits off google for this car. It’s great that you actually had one. Thanks for stopping by.

      sorrentolens

      July 5, 2010 at 4:07 pm

  10. very classy!

    Custom Painted Golf Carts

    October 11, 2010 at 10:54 am

  11. Love your car. My father had a Custom Roayl (white and yellow sedan with twin rear antennaes!). Push bottom transmission. Does yours? I remember pressing two buttons at once on the transmission located on the left side of dash and getting them jammed while my father was getting gas. Boy did I pay for that! He had to disassemble the transmission cover and pop the buttons out. Remember the electric windows and my brother daring me to hold my fingers as he closed the window. Black and blue marks running across my fingers from him shutting the window on my fingers! First memories of watching my father work on the engine and brakes. He washed the car every Sunday in the morning before church. Remember those day trips with grandma in the back seat handing out M&M’s to my father’s dismay. “No cany in the care!” Only problem was that you could smell gas in the back seat, at least accoring to my sister. Finally, replaced by another car in 1966 (Buick LeSabre) and it sat rusting in driveway for many three years until my mother had it towed away while my father was at work! Great car. Great memories.

    Bill

    May 20, 2011 at 8:26 am


Leave a Reply

