Sorrentolens

Photos and thoughts; Cars; 1950s; 1960s

Drunk on the Kool-Aide

with 4 comments

OK, I admit it.  My name is Paul, and I’m an HDR-aholic!  There!  I said it.  I’ve been sloppy drunk on HDR lately – I can’t seem to stop myself.  I know it may be a bit over-the-top.  In some ways it really grabs you and is easy on the eyes.  In other ways — well, it’s a bit much.  I’ll be doing this for awhile if you want to leave and come back in a couple of weeks.  If you think it looks OK, then hang around.

I was in Orlando yesterday at a meeting at the Citrus Club (la-de-da).  Terrible meeting, but I took some photos from the top floor where the dining area is.  I’ve always loved emeralds and sapphires – and that’s what I was trying for with these two buildings.

Emeralds and Sapphires

Emeralds and Sapphires

I took this next one a year ago in Altamonte Springs at Cranes Roost Park.  Its the tower of … @*  ?  I dunno what the tower is supposed to be for or what it represents.  Its just this faux, artsy-fartsy tower here in Central Florida.

Artsy-Fartsy Tower at Cranes Roost Park in Altamonte Springs, FL

Written by sorrentolens

March 2, 2010 at 8:01 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m not quite sure what the technique is, but it does create a surreal, other-worldly quality.
    -Aaron

    The Sluice Box

    March 2, 2010 at 10:52 pm

  2. I like the photo of the towers. Is that HDR from a single shot?

    I am closer to starting HDR. I almost understand it.It looks like I can use Photomatix to merge the separate shots. I do not need Photoshop CS2. I can do whatever in Photoshop CS, which I have. One tutorial said I needed CS2 to merge. I do not think that is true now. Can you merge in Photomatx Pro?

    My D80 will only bracket 3 shots, orig +/- 1. Some Tutorials suggest 5 or more shots.

    I will start HDR soon with older photos of a single shot.

    PS
    I just connected with Rich Degennaro on facebook today.

    Jim Grillo

    March 3, 2010 at 7:23 am

  3. Those towers are Emeralds and Sapphires after you got done with them. The book I am reading on HDR pooh-poohs the people who say it’s too surreal. I bet they said the same thing to those starving artists. You know, the ones who’s works go for millions at famous auction houses now.

    For me, the fun of HDR is two fold. To be able to photograph something that looks like I say it no mater the exposure range. The other is to be a bit creative and enjoy the beautiful colors and textures HDR processing can find.

    Ah, yes, that Kool-Aid is so good! 🙂

  4. Love the Emeralds and Sapphires. Great work.

    blueheronbobcat

    March 3, 2010 at 1:02 pm


Leave a Reply

