Sorrentolens

Photos and thoughts; Cars; 1950s; 1960s

Three years ago —

with 3 comments

 

255_lars-ivar-roed.jpg

I smoked my last cigarette.  I can’t believe it’s me telling you this.  It’s been THREE YEARS!  But yes, three years and I really haven’t had a craving for a smoke all this time.  Oh sure — a sudden twinge that leaves just as quickly as it came.. but I really don’t want one, and I hope I don’t sink low enough to have another.  Chantix works!

Hurricane Ike.

On another note… Hurricane season starts today –  NOAA has their predictions for the coming hurricane season – they expect it to be an active season with more than normal storms:

An “active to extremely active” hurricane season is expected for the Atlantic Basin this year according to the seasonal outlook issued today by NOAA’s Climate Prediction Center – a division of the National Weather Service. As with every hurricane season, this outlook underscores the importance of having a hurricane preparedness plan in place

(have plenty of water, ice, beer, cocktail preparations – and be sure to dress well!)

Hurricane Ike, 2008.

High resolution (Credit: NOAA)

Written by sorrentolens

June 1, 2010 at 6:31 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats!

    I quit in 2006.

    Sam Jacobs

    June 4, 2010 at 11:08 am

  2. I had smoked for 25 years from age 15 to age 40. I’ll turn 55 later this year and I haven’t had a smoke since 2 days before my 40th birthday. After a few years it got easier. Truth be known, I could light one up and enjoy it right now. The remembrance of the pleasurable moments never go away. My solace is, as I’ve told Anna, when I reach 100 I’m gonna’ drink, smoke, chase the women, and paint the town red. However, Anna indicates she will hit me on the head with a broom stick if I try.

    Preston

    June 6, 2010 at 7:26 am

  3. I never got into it. My brain just isn’t wired for tobacco. It’s too busy using those receptors to enjoy the grain, I reckon.

    Congratulations, though. I do not envy those who are addicted.

    K.S.Anthony

    June 10, 2010 at 7:22 am


Leave a Reply

