Sorrentolens

Photos and thoughts; Cars; 1950s; 1960s

On the road – Greenwich,CT, and The Joseph Pilsudski Society

with 13 comments

Greenwich Connecticut is exac-tickely 1160.6 miles from Sorrento Florida.   First day was a twelve hour excursion through the southern coastal states with a side step over to Savannah, GA – really nice city, but it was sooo hot yesterday – so Friday was 653 miles of hard road. 

I must say that North Carolina has the most beautiful section of I-95 with beautiful yellow lillies and red/coral crepe myrtels throughout the state.  I’m sorry to report, but Maryland ranks tops with the suckiest roads. 

As my wife was navigator from FL to CT, I’m afraid to say she lost the will to live somewhere on the New Jersey Turnpike as our trip (B) odometer hit 940 miles – NJ by the way has the rudest drives bar-none!

I took a look around town of Greenwich this evening as I used to work in here back in the early 80s.  My fav bar at the time was Mickey’s on Greenwich Ave. but is now a place called Sundown.  I did find solace in a small Polish pub/club on Arch St… .The Pilsudski Society.  Hmmm. 

I signed the guest book… and put down a pint of their standard bar brew.

The Joseph Pilsudski Society

The fine folks at the JP Society

Written by sorrentolens

June 26, 2010 at 8:54 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I drove from Fla to Cape Cod by by the “great circle” route–passing through Illinois to see family.

    Thus, no I-95 this time.

    gerryrosser

    June 27, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    • Cape Cod is where we are headed… can’t wait to get there!

      FL—> Chicago —> Cape Cod… man, now that’s a lot of driving!!!

      Thanks for stopping by.

      sorrentolens

      June 27, 2010 at 5:35 pm

  2. I see you’re hitting the hottest points of the south. Savannah in late June? You’re a braver man than I, old sport.

    k.s.anthony

    June 27, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    • I’m looking forward to cooling off somewhere on this trip… CT is just has hot as Florida – so it seems. Maybe Cape Cod will give me some relief!

      sorrentolens

      June 27, 2010 at 5:38 pm

  3. You took the photo in the bar AFTER you put down the pint, right? 😉

    Have some lobster on the Cape for me! Oh, and wash it down with a nice cold one.

  4. Great report. Keep them coming!!

    Mark Kuczynski

    June 29, 2010 at 6:12 pm

  5. I lived in Greenwich for many years and have been to the bars you mention. Indeed, I was a regular at the Sundown during my early hedge fund days. I did once or twice visit the Polish bar, which, as a proud German, I could not resist visiting.

    Laguna Beach Trad

    July 1, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    • It was a fun night..and kind of a suprise for me.. The people were wonderful and made me feel welcome. Thanks LBT for stopping by.

      sorrentolens

      July 2, 2010 at 7:41 pm

  6. I’m gonna hit that bar. It looks wonderful. You find yourself in NYC, you had better email me. I’ll buy you a beer.

    tintin

    July 1, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    • Tin Tin.. thanks for stopping by — if I’m in The City.. I certainly will give you a heads up –

      sorrentolens

      July 2, 2010 at 7:43 pm

  7. Dear Mr. Kuczynski,
    How does the day find you? The shots on your blog are quite impressive.

    Best,
    Hilton

    Hilton

    July 1, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    • Mr. Hilton… I’m on vacation and as I write this I’m preparing to leave Cape Cod.. but with a toothache of imense distess! –really—

      Thanks for stopping by… and for the comments. Please visit again.

      sorrentolens

      July 2, 2010 at 7:45 pm

  8. They are SO friendly at the polish club! SO nice!

    Frank

    November 16, 2010 at 1:41 pm


Leave a Reply

