Sorrentolens

Photos and thoughts; Cars; 1950s; 1960s

Sailing

with 6 comments

The first of these photos is mine – I took it back in May at a launch parking lot off the side of one of the causeway bridges in South Daytona Beach.  The rest of the phots are from the Life Archives  and are wonderful shots of sailing back in the 50s and 60s – credits to Peter Stackpole, George Silk, and Gordon Parks.

Moored

Moored

sailboats

sailing wet

sailing manhasette

sailing youth

sailing jackets

From http://experienceproject.com

“Sailing all day. 30 knot winds. White knuckles. It’s dark now and the city admires itself in the reflection of the Bay. The wind is falling, the waves roll calmly under our stern. Sun-beaten and wind-worn, we think of warm soup … hot showers … the sleep of the dead.

The bouncing moon rises over the hills and shines a path home. Red and green road signs flicker in the distance. I reflect on how I should be doing this every day of my life.”  — hellosailor

“My whole life I’ve spent on boats.

Yes, my whole life, from about 4-5 months old on.

That makes me a boat brat.

Its so ingrained into me that moving away from the ocean and boats for any length of time makes me freak out horribly.

Offshore is an interesting thing.

Most are brought up to think there’s nothing out there but a vast open blank ocean, but infact it is pretty damn busy out there between all the commercial traffic, the fish, the dolphins, the whales, the weather, and the birds (yes birds).

It really is amazing.” – anteye

“Sailing is quite a bit like life

It’s not the destination but the journey that is the true reward.” –HappySailor

“A focused relaxation”

“There is a special kind of relaxation I feel when I am sailing.

I leave all the problems and worries of my life on land behind me.  There is usually something to think about that requires my attention, the course, the trim of the sails, where to anchor for the night… and this focus on a completely different set of issues provides an escape.

And of course there is the sensual delight…” — accomplice

Written by sorrentolens

September 7, 2009 at 5:54 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh, these are really nice shots in all! I especially like the first two in perspective and b&w. Yes, “Sailing is quite a bit like life…. ” great quote by the HappySailor. 🙂

    Anna Surface

    September 11, 2009 at 4:17 pm

  2. Where sailing is an escape fof some, so is photography to others. I guess the gift is the discovery of learning what you really enjoy doing.

    Preston Surface

    September 16, 2009 at 9:53 am

  3. It is the one thing that I truly wish I could do, sail. I have an Uncle who makes a habit of it, racing and all. The feeling of being under sail is incredible. You’re lucky to have been brought up in the life.

    Easy and Elegant Life

    September 17, 2009 at 12:29 pm

  4. I should have added that Crocs were first invented as sailing shoes… . Another reason that I shouldn’t have been wearing them ashore. Sticking with Sperrys.

    Easy and Elegant Life

    September 17, 2009 at 12:31 pm

  5. These are amazing photos. I love boat photography of all kinds. I’ve got a few on my own blog. Nice work.

    davecandoit

    September 24, 2009 at 2:20 pm


Leave a Reply

